National Day of Silence

For the first time ever, my school will be participating in the National Day of Silence. If you don’t already know what this is, it is a day where students all over the country take a vow of silence for a whole day to protest the bullying and harassment of LGBT students. This is also to support the LGBT students in their school that are silent about their true selves every single day and try to make them feel comfortable in school.

I am so excited that my school is allowing us to participate in this peaceful protest and is reaching out to students that are afraid to be themselves. Tomorrow students who choose to participate wear a badge on their uniform to tell people that they are being silent and those who can’t be silent will be able to get a wristband to show their support.

So to stay true to my vow of silence I will not be blogging tomorrow and will see all of ya’ll (I really don’t think I can avoid saying ya’ll anymore) on Saturday.

If you are interested getting your school involved with this cause or want more information on the National Day of Silence visit their website.

http://www.dayofsilence.org/

Are you participating tomorrow? Does your school allow it?

Kisses. xxx

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “National Day of Silence

  1. Sian Mann says:

    Awesome idea. I wish I knew about this when I was in school, I would have gotten around it for sure! How did it go?

    • It was great. I stayed silent all day and found a few people in my grade that I was really surprised supported the cause! I did have some weird looks pointed my way and a few of my friends were a little uneasy about it, but overall it was really successful. I will definitely be doing it again.
      Thanks for following me by the way!

      • Sian Mann says:

        Good job, I know I would struggle with being quiet all day! & it is always nice to see your peers doing something you wouldn’t expect, changes your perspective. And not a problem, your about was entertaining I couldn’t not! Plus I need some book related discussion an enthusiasm on my WP reader!

      • Thanks! You definitely will get that from my blog :). It was refreshing actually, a few of guys in my grade that are labeled as those man’s man jocks participated and it made me so happy!

      • Sian Mann says:

        Hell yes, looking forward to it! And that is awesome, breaking the stereotypes those lads are!

Leave a Reply

The Punchy Lands!

Embrace Your PUNCHY Nature

iwishthingswerebetter

I write. You can give feedback.

silver wolf

Stories blog

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

BookwormCastle

what gets you hooked

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

Travels with the Trio

Exploring Europe with Hermione's wits, Harry's curiosity, and Ron's budget.

Unpacking Life

Finding the Souvenir in Today

Bookcasey

Confessions of a Bibliophile

Christopher Stocking

Books for you. Written by me.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

